2020 Call for papers

Call for papers to download, in PDF format or DOCX format

Digital is everywhere. At home, in industry and administration, in transport, in the pocket, in the office… The industrial revolution is mainly a technological evolution in production systems, mass production taking precedence over craftsmanship, the emergence of new skills unrelated to familiar activities, the exploitation of fossil fuels giving way to animal and human power, the development of long-distance transport means contributing to the intensification of commerce. Materialism, through the enjoyment of goods, becomes the vector of industrial and economic development.
Digital, another upheaval? Just like Aesop’s tongue, Digital could be the best and worst of things. Our daily life is imbued with it, at home, in our travels, our professional, leisure and sports activities, our health, our relationships. Nothing escapes it. We will speak of transition insofar as our activities in these most diverse fields become contingent on the use of digital means and intermediaries. The smartphone is an indisputable illustration of this, such that being deprived of it is increasingly excluding us from many resources necessary for daily life. Of course, new opportunities and facilities open up by clicking on a screen, but they also generate new risks and challenges. Is everyone, from all areas of professional and social life, in sync and prepared for this transition to increasingly operate through the virtual world? The materialism of the industrial revolution has been virtualized. A new phase has begun. What are the consequences? What are the stakes, risks and challenges?
The expected presentations and papers (oral, workshop or symposium) will take on a critical approach on the contributions of digital technologies in supporting digital change and transition. The scientific committee will check that the content proposed by authors include theoretical and empirical aspects that are carefully articulated and presented in a rigorously established methodology. The same will level of quality will be expected for the plenary lectures, round table discussions and poster presentations, which will offer a variety of approaches to the topics addressed.
The challenges of the digital transition will be examined and developed through the various themes suggested below (non-exhaustive list):

  • Digital ecosystems, eco-digital culture and eco-communication
  • The study of processes and ethics
  • Mediatised communication and its new forms
  • The predominance of “thumb-index tools” in the different activities and communication
  • The human in all this?
  • The solution of continuity between digital innovators and users
  • Life with algorithms and digital conditioning
  • Communication reinvented
  • Fact checking, fake news
  • Digital persuasion, ICTs and addiction
  • Adaptability, agility
  • Digital exclusion and digital-illiteracy
  • Ergonomics
  • E-health
  • The strategies of GAFA and platforms
  • New skills for the digital world
  • New activities and new forms of management
  • Communication and management of the digital transition
  • Internet governance
  • The evolution of work and industrial systems
  • Privacy and its preservation
  • Regulations…

Contributions

The contributions can be presented in various formats:

  • Oral Presentation: 15 minutes Oral presentation with a PowerPoint visual aid, followed by 5 minutes of discussions per presentation
  • Symposium: Session of 1h30 organised by one or several contributors on a theme, comprising numerous oral presentations (maximum of 5 speakers including the applicant). Session of 1h30 organised by one or several contributors on a theme, comprising numerous oral presentations (maximum of 5 speakers including the applicant). The applicant must contact the speakers of their choice for the symposium to take place.
  • Workshop: The workshop, organised in a 1h30 session, is a space for sharing experiences and ideas. The participants are engaged and contribute to a collective piece of work on a given theme. The workshop organiser presents the theme and ensures the support of at least two contributors.
  • Displayed Poster or Demonstration: Displayed poster (A0 size: 841 x 1189 mm) in the relaxation area, possibly with demonstrations.

Presentations will be in either English or French. They may be in the form of oral presentations, symposia, workshops or posters.

All accepted proposals will be published in the conference proceedings in digital format, provided the author or one of the authors is registered and present at the conference.

Proposals will be made in English or French (title, 5 keywords, 2 pages of proposal, bibliography. Indicate the theme you wish to address). In addition to the name of the applicant, proposals for workshops and symposia will include a detailed list of speakers with their contact details, the title of their talk and a one-page description of their presentation. The duration of a workshop and/or symposium is set at 1h30′. Poster presentations will be displayed for the entire duration of the conference.

Presentations and interventions in symposia or workshops should be presented in the following way:

  • First Page: Title of the presentation; author, university, organisation, institution or company, position held, email address, postal address, telephone/fax number.
  • Second Page: Title of the intervention, 5 key words, abstract of 5,000 to 6,000 characters outlining the subject of the communication proposal, the methodological framework, the corpus of data analysed and the expected or obtained results.

Selected proposals may be subject to modifications or revisions requested by the Scientific Committee.

Proposals should be sent no later than 30 March 2020, to: eutic2020@gmail.com.

Please include: “Communication Proposal EUTIC2020” in the subject line of your email.

The completed text, in accordance with the organisational modalities found on the conference website, should be sent no later than 14 December 2020 so as to be published in the conference proceedings.

The final text should not exceed 12 pages or 36,000 characters, (including the footnotes, bibliography and any graphs, tables or appendix). The document template can be downloaded from the conference website http://conference-eutic.org.

Conference Venue

ULB (Université Libre de Bruxelles). Avenue Jeanne, 44, 1050 Brussels

Further information

Translation of the call for Papers Eutic 2020

  • Sawsan Atallah Bidart. PhD Information Sciences Marketing Communications Instructor Associate Researcher at MICA Bordeaux

Appel à communications 2020

Appel à télécharger, en PDF (728 Ko) ou DOCX (1,2 Mo)

Le numérique est partout. À la maison, dans l’industrie et l’administration, dans les transports, dans la poche, au bureau…. La révolution industrielle est principalement une évolution technologique dans les systèmes de production, production de masse prenant le pas sur l’artisanat, émergence de nouvelles compétences sans rapport avec les activités familières, exploitation des énergies fossiles cédant le pas à la force animale et humaine, développement des moyens transport sur de longues distances contribuant à l’intensification des échanges commerciaux. Le matérialisme, par la jouissance des biens, devient le vecteur du développement industriel et économique.
Le numérique, un autre bouleversement ? Tout comme la langue d’Esope, le numérique serait la meilleure et la pire des choses. Notre quotidien en est imbibé, chez nous, dans nos déplacements, nos activités professionnelles, ludiques et sportives, notre santé, notre vie relationnelle. Rien n’y échappe. On parlera de transition dans la mesure où nos activités dans ces domaines les plus divers deviennent contingentes de l’usage de moyens et d’intermédiaires numériques. Le smartphone en est une illustration incontestable telle qu’en être privé nous met à l’écart, et de plus en plus, de nombreuses ressources nécessaires à la vie quotidienne. Bien entendu de nouvelles opportunités et facilités s’ouvrent en cliquant sur un écran, mais elles engendrent aussi de nouveaux risques et défis. Tout le monde, tous les domaines de la vie professionnelle et sociale, sont-ils en phase et accordés pour cette transition à agir de plus en plus par le virtuel ? Le matérialisme de la révolution industrielle s’est virtualisé. Une étape s’est insérée. Quelles en sont les conséquences ? Quels en sont les enjeux, les risques et les défis ?
Les interventions et communications (orales, en atelier ou symposium) attendues porteront sur une approche critique des apports des technologies numériques dans l’accompagnement au changement et à la transition numérique. Dans les contenus proposés par les auteurs de communication, le comité scientifique veillera à ce que les aspects théoriques et empiriques soient soigneusement articulés et présentés dans une méthodologie rigoureusement établie. Par ailleurs les conférences plénières, les tables rondes, les travaux présentés sous forme de posters proposeront une variété d’approches des sujets abordés, dans ce même souci de qualité.
Les défis de la transition numérique seront examinés et déclinés au travers de différentes thématiques suggérées ci-dessous (liste non exhaustive) :

  • Les écosystèmes numériques, la culture éco-numérique et l’éco-communication.
  • La procédurologie et l’éthique.
  • La communication médiatisée et ses nouvelles formes.
  • La prédominance des « pouces-index-outils » dans les différentes activités et la communication.
  • Et l’homme dans tout ça?
  • La solution de continuité entre concepteurs numériques et utilisateurs.
  • La vie avec les algorithmes et le conditionnement au numérique.
  • La communication réinventée.
  • Le fact checking, les fake news.
  • La persuasion numérique, les TIC et l’addiction.
  • L’adaptabilité, l’agilité.
  • L’exclusion numérique et l’illectronisme.
  • L’ergonomie.
  • E-santé.
  • Les stratégies des GAFA et des plateformes.
  • Les nouvelles compétences pour le numérique.
  • Les nouvelles activités, les nouvelles formes de management.
  • La communication et le management de la transition numérique.
  • La gouvernance d’Internet.
  • L’évolution du travail et des systèmes industriels.
  • La vie privée et sa protection.
  • Les régulations.

Contributions

Les contributions pourront être présentées sous plusieurs formats :

  • Communication orale : Présentation orale avec Powerpoint de 15 min + 5 min de discussion par communication.
  • Symposium :Session de 1h30 organisée par un ou plusieurs contributeurs sur un thème, composée de plusieurs communications orales (maximum 5 intervenants dont le soumissionnaire). Le soumissionnaire ayant sollicité les intervenants de son choix pour la tenue du symposium.
  • Atelier : L’atelier, organisé dans le cadre d’une session de 1h30, est un espace de partage d’expériences et d’idées. Le public est associé et contribue à un travail collectif sur un thème donné. L’organisateur de l’atelier présente le thème et s’assure de l’appui d’au moins deux contributeurs.
  • Communication affichée, démonstration : présentation affichée (format A0 : 841 x 1189 mm) dans l’espace de détente, avec éventuellement des démonstrations.

Les contributions se feront en langue française ou en langue anglaise. Elles pourront donc être présentées sous forme de communication orale, de symposiums, d’ateliers ou par affiche.

Toutes les propositions acceptées seront publiées dans les actes de la conférence sur support numérique, si l’auteur ou un des auteurs est inscrit et s’il est présent à la conférence.

Les propositions seront faites en français ou en anglais (titre, 5 mots clés, 2 pages de proposition, bibliographie. Indiquer le thème que vous voulez traiter). Les propositions d’ateliers et de symposiums comporteront outre le nom du promoteur, la liste détaillée des intervenants avec leurs coordonnées et le titre de leur intervention et une page de présentation de l’intervention La durée d’un atelier et/ou d’un symposium est fixée à 1h30’. Les communications affichées le seront en permanence pendant la durée de la conférence.

Les communications et interventions en symposium ou en atelier devront être présentées de la manière suivante :

  • Première page : Titre de l’intervention ; identification de l’auteur, nom de l’université, organisme, institution ou entreprise d’affiliation, poste occupé, adresse email, adresse postale, n° de téléphone/télécopie.
  • Deuxième page : Titre de l’intervention, 5 mots clés, résumé de 5000 à 6000 caractères présentant le sujet de la contribution, l’encadrement méthodologique, le corpus des données analysées et les résultats attendus ou obtenus.

Les propositions sélectionnées seront éventuellement soumises à des modifications ou révisions demandées par le comité scientifique.

Les propositions devront être envoyées au plus tard le 30 mars 2020 à l’adresse EUTIC2020@gmail.com.

Prière de mentionner dans l’objet du mail : « proposition de communication EUTIC2020 »

Le texte complet devra être envoyé au plus tard le 14 décembre 2020 pour publication des actes suivant les modalités d’organisation établies et publiées sur le site web de la Conférence. Le texte définitif ne dépassera pas 12 pages ou 36 000 signes, (notes, bibliographie, graphiques, tableaux et annexes compris). La feuille de style sera à télécharger sur le site web de la Conférence http://conference-eutic.org

Lieu de la conférence

ULB (Université Libre de Bruxelles). Avenue Jeanne, 44, 1050 Bruxelles

Informations complémentaires