Call for Papers

The international and interdisciplinary network for the challenges and uses of information communication technologies (EUTIC) is pleased to announce its 15th international conference organised by the Virtual University of Senegal at the ENO of Dakar (Senegal).

Smart Territories and Learning Societies

The ways of working and development strategies of organisations of all kinds have undergone profound changes in large part to the deployment of digital technologies at the dawn of the twenty-first century. This was not without sociological, economic and cultural consequences faced by all continents. This omnipresence of digitised information is indeed spreading at high speed, even if it is true that the least favoured territories progress less quickly in this respect.

Far from being a handicap, this change is a real asset because it inevitably enforces the breaking of habits and the anticipation of evolutions so as to be efficient and to quite simply “stay in the game” in what is an extremely competitive environment. We naturally think of the evolution in devices and computer hardware that have marked the last forty years and that have considerably modified working and production methods.

However, it is not this very remarkable technical aspect that constitutes the most remarkable change. Benchmarks and frames of reference are strongly modified: in only a few years, the pyramidal and hierarchical working principals that were the norms for centuries had to co-exist with transversal rationales, of reticular nature triggered by the increasing use of digital networks. If there is a revolution, it is of a paradigmatic nature and it concerns each of us henceforth because the transmission of information and knowledge modes evolve. New uses are emerging, based on transversal flows and on increasing public engagement (the “crowds” in crowdsourcing)in actions and decisions.

It is this new configuration that the notion of intelligence, defined by TLFI (Treasure of the computerised French Language) as “The ability to apprehend and organise the data of the situation to bring together applicable processes with the objective to reach, to choose the means or discover the new solutions that allow for the adaptation to action requirements”(Translation).

Smart territoires have “infrastructure and physical characteristics designed and maintained to allow for the rapid flow of information, their analysis and preservation” (Movilab 2019) (Translation). The concept of TICA (Smart Territories and learning communities) developed by Movilab (laboratories with sustainable functions) is based on the principle of collective intelligence and consists of promoting the flow of knowledge between communities and territories in the perspective of preserving the environment and sustainable development. Digital intelligence, which goes beyond classical computerisation will now pilot missions of supporting knowledge transmission communities.

Work on locally active learning communities (Querrien 2013) explores the “new ways of learning and cooperating to the production of usable knowledge” (Translation). The major idea defended by Thanh Nhgiem (2013) is to go from the punctual experience to a more global appropriation of practices for the improvement of our way of life.

It is this broadened perspective that we adopt in choosing the term “learning societies”. All areas are concerned with digital uses: at the “micro” level in interpersonal communication, more globally in economic and political spheres, in culture, environmental protection, recreation and in education and training, we see cooperation, co-working and collaborative work develop.

EUTIC2019 will allow us to renew the questioning regarding the relevance of the use of ICTs, which is used as the theme for our annual conferences. This evolution of digital practices and the constant search for improvement of tools that define them, require everyone to be on permanent watch to make the most beneficial use.

Learners, teachers, designers, citizens, we are all constantly confronted with innovation, we must be creative and adapt to new developments every day. Are we trained for this? How do we prepare our generations and the ones to come to live and anticipate the changes of this era that some call the “digital revolution”?

Conferences, such as this one, are organised by scientific communities of researchers, who are at crossroads between computer sciences and humanities, so as to contribute answers to these questions, which are consequently included in the themes to be discussed in the conferences, papers and round tables:

  • Socio-economic evolutions and collective intelligence
  • Interculturality and digital ecosystems
  • Smart digital uses in territories
  • Digital training and development dynamics
  • Connected objects, augmented reality, transhumanism
  • Learning systems in the 21st century
  • User centred design, anticipating expectations and needs, UX-Design and HMI (Human Machine Interaction)
  • Outsourcing, cloud computing, open data, open archives
  • ….

The expected interventions will focus on the challenges and uses of digital technologies and on the added value they can bring to dynamics of development. The scientific committee will ensure that the content of the papers submitted by authors will have theoretical and empirical contributions that are carefully articulated and presented in a rigorously established methodology. Additionally, taking the same care to ensure quality, the plenary conferences, round tables and works presented in form of posters will offer a variety of approaches to the topics covered.

This international conference is aimed at both academics and practitioners as well as policy makers interested in questions about ICT impacts on change strategies. The rich and the diverse contributions will allow for scientific deliberations and international research valorisation as well as the widening of perspectives in the objective of international cooperation.

Bibliographical Elements

Appel à communication

Le réseau international et interdisciplinaire pour les enjeux et usages des technologies de l’information et de la communication (EUTIC) a le plaisir de vous annoncer sa 15e conférence internationale organisée par l’Université Virtuelle du Sénégal à l’ENO de Dakar (Sénégal).

Territoires intelligents et sociétés apprenantes

Les modalités de fonctionnement et les stratégies de développement des organisations de tous ordres ont connu de profonds changements dus en grande partie au déploiement des technologies numériques à l’aube du XXIe siècle. Cela n’a pas été sans conséquences aux plans sociologique, économique et culturel, et ceci sur tous les continents. Cette omniprésence de l’information numérisée se propage en effet à grande vitesse, même s’il est vrai que les territoires les moins favorisés ont une progression moins rapide à cet égard.

Loin d’être un handicap, le changement est un véritable atout dans la mesure où il impose inévitablement de rompre les habitudes, d’anticiper sur les évolutions afin d’être performant et tout simplement de «rester dans la course» dans un environnement extrêmement concurrentiel. On pense tout naturellement aux mutations des matériels et des équipements informatiques qui ont jalonné les quarante dernières années et qui ont considérablement modifié les modalités de travail et de production.

Cependant, ce n’est pas cet aspect technique, pourtant très remarquable qui constitue le changement le plus profond. Les repères et les cadres de référence sont fortement modifiés: en très peu d’années, les logiques de fonctionnement pyramidal et hiérarchique qui prévalaient depuis des siècles ont dû cohabiter avec des logiques transversales, de type réticulé suscitées par le recours croissant aux réseaux numériques. Si révolution il y a, elle est d’ordre paradigmatique et elle concerne chacun d’entre nous dans la mesure où désormais les modalités de transmission de l’information et de la connaissance évoluent. On voit se répandre de nouveaux usages fondés sur des flux transversaux et sur une implication croissante des publics («la foule» du crowdsourcing) dans les actions et les décisions.

C’est de cette nouvelle configuration que relève la notion d’intelligence, définie par le TLFI (Trésor de la langue française informatisé) comme «Aptitude à appréhender et organiser les données de la situation, à mettre en relation les procédés à employer avec le but à atteindre, à choisir les moyens ou à découvrir les solutions originales qui permettent l’adaptation aux exigences de l’action.»

Les territoires intelligents disposent «d’infrastructures et de caractéristiques matérielles, conçues, délimitées et entretenues pour permettre la circulation rapide d’information, leur analyse, leur interprétation et leur préservation.» (Movilab2019). Le concept de TICA (Territoires intelligents et communautés apprenantes) développé par Movilab (laboratoires en modes de vie durables), se fonde sur le principe de l’intelligence collective et consiste à favoriser la circulation des connaissances entre les communautés et les territoires dans la perspective de la préservation de l’environnement et du développement durable. L’intelligence numérique, qui va au-delà de l’informatisation classique, va désormais piloter les missions des communautés d’appui à la transmission des savoirs.

Les travaux sur les communautés apprenantes qui œuvrent en local (Querrien 2013), explorent les «nouveaux moyens d’apprendre et de coopérer à la production des savoirs à utiliser». L’idée majeure défendue par Thanh Nhgiem (2013) est de passer de l’expérience ponctuelle à une appropriation plus globale de ces pratiques pour une amélioration des modes de vie.

C’est cette perspective élargie que nous adoptons en choisissant l’expression «sociétés apprenantes». Tous les domaines sont concernés par les usages du numérique : au niveau «micro» dans la communication interpersonnelle, plus globalement dans les sphères économiques et politiques, dans la culture, la protection de l’environnement, les loisirs et dans l’éducation et la formation, on voit se développer des démarches de coopération, de co-working, de travail collaboratif.

EUTIC2019 nous permettra de renouveler le questionnement concernant la pertinence de l’usage des TIC qui sert de fil rouge à nos conférences annuelles. Cette évolution des pratiques digitales et la constante recherche d’amélioration des outils qui les conditionnent demandent à chacun d’être en veille permanente pour en faire l’usage le plus bénéfique. Apprenants, enseignants, concepteurs, citoyens, nous sommes sans cesse confrontés à l’innovation, nous devons chaque jour être créatifs et nous adapter aux nouveautés. Sommes-nous formés à cela ? Comment préparons-nous nos générations et celles à venir à vivre et à anticiper les changements de cette ère que certains nomment la « révolution numérique » ?

La communauté scientifique des chercheurs au croisement de ces domaines entre l’informatique et les sciences humaines organise des conférences comme celle-ci pour apporter sa contribution aux réponses à ces questions, qui se déclinent dans les axes qui seront ainsi traités dans les conférences, communications et tables rondes :

  • Évolutions socio-économiques et intelligence collective!Interculturalité et écosystèmes numériques
  • Usages intelligents du numérique dans les territoires
  • Formation au numérique et dynamiques de développement
  • Objets connectés, réalité augmentée, transhumanisme
  • Systèmes d’apprentissage au XXIe siècle
  • Conception centrée utilisateur, prospection des attentes et besoins, UX-Design et IHM
  • Externalisation des ressources, cloud computing, open data, archives ouvertes
  • ….

Les interventions attendues porteront sur les enjeux et les usages des Technologies numériques et sur les plus-values que ces dernières peuvent apporter dans les dynamiques de développement. Dans les contenus proposés par les auteurs de communication, le comité scientifique veillera à ce que les apports théoriques et empiriques soient soigneusement articulés et présentés dans une méthodologie rigoureusement établie. Par ailleurs les conférences plénières, les tables rondes, les travaux présentés sous forme de posters proposeront une variété d’approche des sujets abordés, dans ce même souci de qualité.

Cette conférence internationale s’adresse tant aux universitaires qu’aux acteurs de terrain et aux décideurs politiques concernés par les questions concernant l’impact des TIC sur les stratégies du changement. La richesse et la diversité des apports permettra aux uns et aux autres de s’inscrire dans une politique d’échanges scientifiques et de valorisation de la recherche internationale mais aussi d’élargir les perspectives de chacun dans un objectif d’ouverture et de coopération internationale.

Éléments de bibliographie